Brown to vote with electoral college

ALBANY, NY (AP) — The 29 members of New York's Electoral College are convening in Albany to officially cast their votes for President Barack Obama.
The event in the Senate Chamber will be broadcast live at noon Monday on public broadcast stations across the state. Secretary of State Cesar Perales will convene the event. His office is encouraging schools to air it as a civics lesson.
Under the U.S. Constitution, the president and vice president are elected indirectly by "electors" who are elected by popular vote. New York's 29 electors include Gov. Andrew Cuomo, Albany Mayor Jerry Jennings, Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli, and Attorney General Eric Schneiderman.
They also include Syracuse Mayor Stephanie Miner, Buffalo Mayor Byron Brown, several New York City officials and some union leaders and Democratic party officials.

Copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


New York (change)

Democrat Andrew Cuomo is Governor of New York.  Two Democrats represent NYS in the U.S. Senate, and NY has 29 representatives in the U.S. House: 21 Democrats and 8 Republicans.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Andrew Cuomo
Attorney General: Eric Schneiderman

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.