Higgins shocked by Sudan pardon

BUFFALO, NY (WIVB) — Rep. Brian Higgins is strongly objecting to the pardoning of a man implicated in the escape of a man imprisoned for killing of John Granville, a native of western New York who was working in Sudan.

The president of Sudan granted a pardon to a man who aided the jailbreak that allowed the murderer of Granville and another foreign aid worker.

Mubarak Mustafa had been convicted of helping the two men escape the prison through a sewer pipe.

Higgins is calling on the U.S. State department to seek justice for John Granville.

In a letter to Secretary of State John Kerry, Congressman Higgins wrote, " I encourage you to continue to bring the full weight of our diplomatic resources to bear to effect the repeal of Mustafa's pardon and the capture of Hamad and Mohamed.... I look forward to working with you to bring the remaining killers and conspirators to justice under your watch, so that the Granville family may have some measure of peace."

Granville, a Buffalo native, and his driver, Abdel Rahman Abbas, were murdered by extremists after leaving a New Year’s Eve event at the British Embassy in Khartoum in 2008.

Copyright 2014 WIVB.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


New York (change)

Democrat Andrew Cuomo is Governor of New York.  Two Democrats represent NYS in the U.S. Senate, and NY has 29 representatives in the U.S. House: 21 Democrats and 8 Republicans.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Andrew Cuomo
Attorney General: Eric Schneiderman

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.